ACSA National Awards to recognise excellence in aged care

Outstanding care providers and dedicated aged care professionals around the country will have the
opportunity to represent their State this September at ACSA’s National Awards to be held as part of ACSA’s
National Summit from 3-5 of September in Sydney.

02 Aug 2018

ACSA’s busy State awards season around the country has just capped off, recognising more than thirty
talented individuals, organisations and initiatives for their work leading the aged care industry forward.
Winners from each State will now represent their state at the National Awards presentation on September 5
at the ACSA National Summit.

“ACSA’s State awards recognise some of the wonderful people who commit themselves tirelessly day-in-dayout
to the care of others,” said ACSA CEO Pat Sparrow. “Our industry is run on the strength of those selfless
efforts. ACSA’s State-based awards are an important way of giving back some of the recognition they

Recognition of outstanding achievement was recognised across six State-based award categories this year:
Aged care Provider of the Year, Innovation in Service or Design, Volunteer of the Year, Lifetime Achievement
Award, Employee of the Year, and Trainee of the Year.

In his video message to award finalists Aged Care Minister Ken Wyatt paid tribute to “ACSA’s outstanding
leadership in the aged care sector,” while singling out for special mention those valued ACSA members who
give tirelessly of their care and dedication to older Australians so deserving of quality care and respect:

“I congratulate all of the winners - whether achieved as an individual or as part of a team you should be very
proud of the contribution you are making and the recognition you so richly deserve,” Minister Wyatt said in a
video message to attendees.

“I also encourage everyone working in our world class aged care sector to look these winning case studies and
to think about how you can go above and beyond. Exceptional work requires results not only in recognition
from your peers but, most importantly, it makes life better for those who rely on your dedication and care
- people who may not be as physically or mentally robust as they once were and deserve our kindness
consideration and respect.”

CEO Pat Sparrow also extended ACSA’s warmest congratulations all those who have taken part, whether
through nominating, attending or as nominee, finalist or winner– and recognised and thanked them for their
generous service.

“The 2018 ACSA Aged Care Awards celebrate the dedication and commitment we see daily and ensure our
teams, organisations and colleagues are recognised for that hard work.”

“We look forward to welcoming our Award winners to Sydney to contribute their stories and experiences to
our national ageing agenda. The Summit promises three stimulating days of discussion about our fastchanging
sector, and each of our Award winners have valuable experiences and achievements to contribute to
our exciting program.”

Further information on ACSA’s National Summit is available here.

Volunteer of the Year

Recognises an individual who exemplifies the tireless generosity of volunteers in caring for and supporting older people and their carers.
Queensland: Alison Day, Blue Care
Victoria: Elizabeth De Amicis, Assisi Centre Aged Care
Western Australia: Gilbert (Gil) Hicks, Astley Care
New South Wales & ACT: Brian O’Reilly, Presbyterian Aged Care NSW/ACT
South Australia: Pina Deguisa, The Society of Saint Hilarion Aged Care.
NT: Ann Richards, COTA
Tasmania: Beth Cahill, from Meercroft Care


Photos from Left to Right:  Volunteer of the Year Award winners for NSW/ACT, QLD, SA, VIC and WA.

Employee of the Year

Recognises the dedication and contribution of an individual employee in the delivery of services to older people.
Queensland: Vicki McLennan, Mercy Community
Victoria: Joy Leggo, Multicultural Aged Care Services (Geelong)
Western Australia: Joyce Ashworth, Juniper
New South Wales & ACT: David MacDonald, Warrigal
South Australia: Tanya Liddell, Eldercare Incorporated
NT: Brendan Hicks, Larrakia Nation Aboriginal Corporation
Tasmania: Clare Jurasovic, Salvation Army Barrington Lodge

Aged Care Provider of the Year

Recognises a provider who demonstrates outstanding leadership, management, workforce culture, innovation, communication and general excellence to the sector.
Queensland: integratedliving Australia
Victoria: Martin Luther Homes
Western Australia: Wagin Frail Aged Inc (Waratah Lodge)
New South Wales & ACT: Warrigal
South Australia: Resthaven Incorporated
NT: Tjilipi Pampaku Ngura Flexible Care Service (Docker River) an ARRCS service
Tasmania: Masonic Care Tasmania

Trainee of the Year 

Recognises the outstanding achievements of an employee who is studying and working
towards a qualification in the aged care sector.
Western Australia: Evan Cox, Rise Network
New South Wales & ACT: Kodey Wicks, Bathurst Seymour Centre
South Australia: Dipti Hamal, Pennwood Village,
Tasmania: Danielle Jacobson, Baptcare Karingal

Innovation in Service or Design Award

Recognises a program, project or initiative that shows originality to improve the lives of older Australians.
Queensland: Wirunya Aged Care Facility
Victoria: Melissa Nicholson, Uniting AgeWell
Western Australia: Amana Living for their Dedicated Staffing Model
New South Wales & ACT: 3Bridges Community
South Australia: Southern Cross Care SA/NT, Cottages and the Buddy Program
NT: Pearl Southern Cross Care – “Early Intervention Working Party” and Pearl Southern Cross Care for the
“Dinah” Memory Support Wing

Lifetime of Achievement Award

Recognises an individual who has worked in the delivery of services to older people for a minimum of 10 years, celebrating their outstanding achievements and contribution to the betterment of the aged care industry.
Queensland: Esther Arulogun, Carinity Colthup Manor
Western Australia: Anna Maria Harrison, Umbrella Multicultural Community Care
New South Wales & ACT: Jennie Hewitt, Feros Care
South Australia: Anne Brown, Chief Executive, Pennwood Village